Blues and Soul Music Magazine

Issue 1084

Welcome to B&S


Latest Reviews

Next Reviews 1 to 10 of 326

Brandon Allen: The Gene Ammons Project

Brandon Allen: The Gene Ammons Project

There never was another tenor player quite like Gene Ammons, often overlooked by the likes of Dexter Gordon and Sonny Stitt but tenor man Brandon Allen, who is unequivocally at the top of his game, aims to redress the balance with this fine homage.

read more

Tony Allen

Tony Allen: The Source

After his successful foray into Art Blakey,Tony Allen, afrobeat originator and groove master carries on on an Afrocentric trip through the Blue Note repertoire that include stalwart classic reinterpretations of tunes

read more

Marvin Parks

Marvin Parks : Marvin Parks

What is it about Paris and buskers? They seemed to be inextricably linked with romance, the joys of spring and some sort of magical theatre.Benjamin Clementine learnt his trade on the metro as did Madeleine Peyroux

read more

ollie 1

Ollie Howell: Self-Identity (Ropeadope Records)

This sophomore offering an exceptional and scintillating prospect. It's no wonder Quincy Jones has hailed him as an "unbelievable drummer" and rightly so...

Videoread more

Win tickets + camping to Love Supreme Festival

Win tickets to Love Supreme

B&S announces an official media partnership with the Love Supreme Festival and to celebrate that fact, one lucky winner will win a pair of tickets to this star-studded event…

read more


Tristan Banks : Cidade Alta

I'ts quality music destined for any Dingwalls sunday afternoon that might come about anytime soon hopefully!

read more


David Dower and Matt Fisher : The Frog, The Fish and The Whale.

Dower like any improviser is working from a vocabulary - an arsenal of licks and phrases, choice chord voicings, and harmonic skills available in a second but what makes a memorable and an essential player?

read more


Fosatero : Submarinista en el Tejado

Breaking out of the Madrid jazz scene this band on the run intend to sit up and get noticed with an abrasive mix of hard and soft,their tapas are not for the tepid!

read more


Feeling Good: Funk, Soul & Deep Jazz Gems: The Supreme Sound Of Producer Bob Shad

It begins with Afrique's seminal cut 'House Of The Rising Funk' a blessed slice of wah wah guitar heaven that will send funk loving cratediggers garrity!

read more


Aaron Liddard : Together For Ever

Aaron Liddard one of the most respected UK sax players out there dips his toe into the limelight with this his new and exciting project.

read more

Next Reviews 1 to 10 of 326

From Jazz Funk & Fusion To Acid Jazz

Join the B&S Mailing List

Blues and Soul on Twitter