Blues and Soul Music Magazine

Issue 1096

Welcome to B&S...

BRINGING YOU THE STORIES BEHIND MUSIC + ESSENTIAL NEWS, REVIEWS AND INTERVIEWS...

News Item

The Wailers Back For UK Tour

The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley
The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley The Wailers: Photo copyright Simon Redley

Following the success of their huge sell out UK tour last year, legendary reggae artists The Wailers return to mark their highly celebrated and anticipated "Legend" tour.

The band will be performing the iconic album live on stage in its entirety, plus all their greatest hits such as "Three Little Birds," "I Shot The Sheriff," "Jamming" and many more. They will play fourteen shows across some of the UK’s major cities.

Formed in 1969 together with Bob Marley, The Wailers have sold in excess of 250 million albums worldwide. In the UK, they’ve notched up over twenty chart hits, including seven Top 10 entries. The band has played to circa 24 million people across the globe, an average of 200 dates a year.

The Wailers have been performing entire sets devoted to songs from specific albums such as "Legend," "Exodus" and "Survival", released in 1979. "Legend" was the twelfth album released by Bob Marley and The Wailers and the second posthumous one. The best-selling reggae album of all-time, with over 30 million copies sold worldwide. A 2014 re-release topped The US Billboard chart.
The band will also perform selections from "Exodus."

Fri 04 Nov 16 Manchester Academy
Sat 05 Nov 16 Leeds O2 Academy
Sun 06 Nov 16 Glasgow O2 ABC
Tue 08 Nov 16 Liverpool O2 Academy
Wed 09 Nov 16 Newcastle O2 Academy
Thu 10 Nov 16 Norwich The Nick Rayns LCR, UEA
Fri 11 Nov 16 Sheffield O2 Academy
Sat 12 Nov 16 Birmingham O2 Institute
Sun 13 Nov 16 Leicester O2 Academy
Tue 15 Nov 16 Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Wed 16 Nov 16 Bristol O2 Academy
Thu 17 Nov 16 Oxford O2 Academy
Fri 18 Nov 16 Bournemouth O2 Academy
Sat 19 Nov 16 London Indigo At The O2
www.gigsandtours.com
www.wailers.com

ALL PHOTOS COPYRIGHT: Simon Redley
Words SIMON REDLEY

From Jazz Funk & Fusion To Acid Jazz

Join the B&S Mailing List

Blues and Soul on Twitter